Find Trading Tools
REVIEW

Barchart Review

Market-data site with charts, screeners, and options statistics, including unusual-activity pages.

By Last checked

Reviewed

Quick verdict

Barchart

Start here if you want market-data / charting / screening software with options statistics — Free forever, Plus from $9.99/mo, Premier from $29.95/mo — and Premier unlocks Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, and historical options downloads. Skip if you need Barchart to be the broker, verified live Canadian-listed coverage / Canadian-broker integrations / CAD billing, or a dedicated Supercharts / strategy-visualizer seat.

Sourced fit

  • Market-data / charting / screening software with options statistics (official membership-comparison 2026-09-09).
  • Free $0; Plus $9.99/mo / $99/yr / $179/2yr; Premier $29.95/mo / $239.95/yr / $419.95/2yr (prefer $239.95/yr over $19.95 vs $19.99 effective displays).
  • Premier unlocks Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, historical options downloads.

Sourced limits

  • Not a broker; Top Stock Picks / Futures Trading Guide / Opinions are not FTT recommendations.
  • Paid tiers: first 30 days free; annual/2yr Plus+Premier fully refundable within 30 days of billing. Reject stale $199.95/yr / $368/2yr and checkout strikethroughs as standing.
  • Historical U.S./Canadian equity options downloads cited (to Jan 3, 2017); live Canadian coverage / broker / CAD unverified.
  • No FTT tracked link; CTAs go to the official homepage.
Try Barchart

This directory may earn a commission if you buy through links. There is no affiliate link on this page yet. This button goes to the official homepage.

Pricing

FreePlus $9.99/moPremier $29.95/moPremier $239.95/yr

Membership on barchart.com/membership-comparison (2026-09-09): Free $0; Plus $9.99/mo / $99/yr / $179/2yr; Premier $29.95/mo / $239.95/yr / $419.95/2yr. Prefer $239.95/yr (comparison $19.95/mo vs checkout $19.99/mo effective). Paid tiers: first 30 days free; annual/2yr Plus+Premier fully refundable within 30 days of billing. Checkout strikethroughs and stale $199.95/yr / $368/2yr are not standing. Historical U.S./Canadian equity options downloads to Jan 3, 2017 (Premier); live Canadian coverage / broker / CAD unverified. Confirm on the official site before you pay.

Verdict

Barchart is market-data / charting / screening software with options statistics — quotes, charts, screeners, and (on Premier) Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, and historical options downloads. Official pages at barchart.com and barchart.com/membership-comparison describe Free (My Barchart), Plus, and Premier memberships. Barchart is not a broker, not a custody account, and not a source of investment advice from this directory.

Authoritative membership dollars (membership-comparison, captured 2026-09-09; supporting get-barchart-premier; browser checkout confirm):

Plan Rate Effective (when shown)
Free (My Barchart) $0 — never expires —
Plus Monthly $9.99/mo —
Plus Annual $99/yr $8.25/mo effective
Plus Biennial $179/2yr $7.46/mo effective
Premier Monthly $29.95/mo —
Premier Annual $239.95/yr Prefer $239.95/yr as the annual offer. Monthly-equivalent display differs slightly: membership-comparison $19.95/mo vs Premier checkout $19.99/mo for the same SKU (rounding).
Premier Biennial $419.95/2yr $17.49/mo effective

Trial / cancel / refunds. Paid tiers advertise first 30 days free, then monthly (or prepaid annual / biennial) billing; cancel anytime on monthly. Annual and 2-year plans (Plus and Premier) are fully refundable within 30 days of the billing date — confirmed on live checkout pages (2026-09-09). Monthly bills after the trial if not cancelled.

Checkout strikethroughs are not standing offers. Live checkout shows crossed-out reference prices (Plus $119.88 annual / $239.76 2-year; Premier $359.40 annual / $718.80 2-year). Those are marketing strikethroughs — not typed into offers[] and not the directory ladder.

Do not link /my/purchase. That path is a live 404. Prefer membership-comparison and get-barchart-premier.

Reject stale help-desk dollars. Do not use older help-article figures such as $199.95/yr or $368/2yr (e.g. Nov 2020 help copy) as standing prices. Standing offers here are the 2026-09-09 membership-comparison ladder only.

Vendor Top Stock Picks, Futures Trading Guide, and Opinions are research / hypothetical vendor surfaces — not recommendations or advice from Find Trading Tools.

This is a directory listing of analysis software, not a brokerage comparison, not a signal service from FTT, and not financial advice. Do not treat this page as a how-to for placing trades.

We are not saying Barchart is the best charting tool, the best options screener, or the best purchase. We do not invent star ratings. We are not saying unusual-activity prints, picks, or any plan will make a strategy profitable.

Best for

  • Market-data / charting / screening software with options statistics. Official membership pages center quotes, charts, screeners, and Premier options tools from Free $0, Plus from $9.99/mo, and Premier from $29.95/mo.
  • Premier when options tools are the job — Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, and historical options downloads (vendor Premier copy).
  • Plus when you want more customization (saved screeners / chart templates and related Plus labels) without paying for Premier options surfaces.
  • Free (My Barchart) when delayed quotes and basic screens are enough — $0, never expires.
  • Annual / biennial when you will keep the seat — Plus $99/yr or $179/2yr; Premier $239.95/yr or $419.95/2yr — and want the published effective monthly rates.
  • A first-30-days-free on-ramp on paid tiers before monthly billing continues.

That is a fit for traders who want market-data and screens as research inputs. It is not a claim that any plan, pick, or unusual-activity print improves results.

Skip if

  • You want Barchart to be the broker. It is not. Do not treat this page as a brokerage comparison or a how-to for placing trades.
  • You assumed Top Stock Picks / Futures Trading Guide / Opinions are recommendations from this directory. They are not. Those vendor surfaces are research / hypothetical — not FTT advice.
  • You need verified live Canadian-listed coverage, a named Canadian broker integration, or CAD billing. Historical U.S./Canadian equity options downloads are cited below; live coverage breadth, broker integrations, and CAD billing remain unverified where not stated — see Canada note.
  • You expected stale help-desk prices ($199.95/yr, $368/2yr) as the standing ladder. Rejected — use membership-comparison dollars only.
  • Your primary job is Supercharts, automated technical scanning alone, browser options analytics without Barchart’s data stack, or a strategy visualizer / builder. Neighbors: TradingView, TrendSpider, Market Chameleon, OptionStrat. Different jobs: not a ranking.

What you get at each price

Source of truth for dollars: barchart.com/membership-comparison — captured 2026-09-09 (supporting get-barchart-premier; browser checkout confirm). Do not use /my/purchase (live 404).

Plan Billing Rate Eff. when shown Pricing URL
Free (My Barchart) Never expires $0 — membership-comparison
Plus Monthly Monthly $9.99/mo — same
Plus Annual Yearly $99/yr $8.25/mo same
Plus Biennial 2 years $179/2yr $7.46/mo same
Premier Monthly Monthly $29.95/mo — same
Premier Annual Yearly $239.95/yr $19.95/mo on comparison; checkout shows $19.99/mo for same SKU same
Premier Biennial 2 years $419.95/2yr $17.49/mo same

Also on official membership / Premier product / checkout pages (feature claims — dollars only from the table above for standing offers):

  • Free (My Barchart). Standing $0 seat that never expires — on-ramp for quotes, charts, and basic screens (exact free caps confirm in-account).
  • Plus. Mid-tier customization / analysis seat (vendor: saved screeners, chart templates, and related Plus labels). Does not replace Premier for Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, or historical options downloads.
  • Premier unlocks advanced options tools. Unusual Options Activity; Options Flow; Advanced Options Screeners (covered calls, naked puts, bull/bear call and put spreads, custom options screeners); extensive volatility / IV tools; Options Time & Sales; historical options downloads.
  • Premier research / hypothetical surfaces. Top Stock Picks; Futures Trading Guide (vendor: hypothetical MACD crossover system); Barchart Opinions — research / hypothetical only, not FTT advice.
  • Trial. Paid tiers advertise first 30 days free; monthly bills after trial if not cancelled; cancel anytime on monthly.
  • Refunds. Annual and 2-year Plus and Premier plans are fully refundable within 30 days of the billing date — confirmed on live checkout pages (2026-09-09).
  • Checkout strikethroughs (not standing). Plus $119.88 annual / $239.76 2-year; Premier $359.40 annual / $718.80 2-year — marketing crossed-out references only; not in offers[].
  • Stale dollars rejected. Do not treat help-desk $199.95/yr or $368/2yr as standing.

Dedicated plan table: Barchart pricing.

Prices change. Confirm the total before you pay. This directory does not sell Barchart and has no affiliate URL. The CTA on this page goes to the official homepage: barchart.com. We may earn a commission later if a tracked link is added; none is wired today.

How it works

  1. Start Free or trial. Open barchart.com on Free (My Barchart) $0, or start a paid-tier first 30 days free trial from membership signup.
  2. Chart & screen. Use quotes, charts, and screeners as research inputs — not as FTT recommendations.
  3. Premier options surfaces (if that is the job). Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, Options Time & Sales, historical options downloads — still research inputs, not FTT advice.
  4. Optional vendor ideas. Top Stock Picks / Futures Trading Guide / Opinions are vendor research / hypothetical — not recommendations from Find Trading Tools.
  5. Subscribe. Choose Plus ($9.99/mo / $99/yr / $179/2yr) or Premier ($29.95/mo / $239.95/yr / $419.95/2yr) if you keep the seat after trial. Cancel monthly before the next cycle if it is not a fit. Annual / 2-year Plus and Premier seats are fully refundable within 30 days of billing (live checkout).

Pros and cons

Sourced from official membership-comparison and supporting Premier product pages. We do not invent affiliate URLs or publish stale help-desk dollars as standing offers.

Pros

  • Clear standing ladder: Free $0; Plus $9.99/mo / $99/yr / $179/2yr; Premier $29.95/mo / $239.95/yr / $419.95/2yr (2026-09-09).
  • Paid tiers advertise first 30 days free; monthly cancel-anytime path is published.
  • Annual / 2-year Plus and Premier fully refundable within 30 days of billing — confirmed on live checkout.
  • Premier product job is explicit for options stats: Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, historical downloads.
  • Official Premier copy names historical daily options price data for U.S. or Canadian equity option contracts (back to January 3, 2017).
  • Free forever seat remains available — not a paid-only catalog.

Cons

  • Not a broker; Top Stock Picks / Futures Trading Guide / Opinions are not FTT recommendations and do not guarantee profits.
  • Advanced options tools are Premier-gated — Plus is not a cheaper path into Unusual Options Activity / Options Flow / Advanced Options Screeners.
  • Live Canadian-listed coverage breadth, named Canadian-broker integrations, and CAD billing remain unverified where not stated.
  • Premier annual effective monthly display differs slightly ($19.95 vs $19.99) depending on page — prefer citing $239.95/yr.
  • No FTT affiliate URL yet — CTAs go to the official homepage.

Vs TradingView, Market Chameleon, TrendSpider, and OptionStrat

This is not a ranking. These are neighboring listings for related charting / options-analytics jobs. We do not invent star ratings. We do not claim Barchart is better.

For a Keep / Gain / Lose job-fit map of neighboring chart / screener / options-stats listings (not a ranking), see Barchart alternatives.

Barchart TradingView Market Chameleon TrendSpider OptionStrat
Status on this directory Live review Live review Live review Live review Live review
Job Market-data / charting / screening + options stats (Premier UOA / flow / screeners / IV) Multi-asset Supercharts / screening platform Browser options analytics / IV / earnings / multi-leg screens Automated technical charting / scanning Strategy visualizer / builder
What official pages describe Free / Plus / Premier membership ladder; Premier options + research surfaces Basic free + Essential / Plus / Premium / Ultimate Starter free + Premium / Total Access Standard / Premium / Enhanced / Advanced Free + paid Live Tools / Live Flow seats
Price captured here Free $0; Plus $9.99/mo / $99/yr / $179/2yr; Premier $29.95/mo / $239.95/yr / $419.95/2yr (2026-09-09) See TradingView live review Premium $99/mo + 7-day trial (2026-09-03) See TrendSpider live review See OptionStrat live review
Canada Historical U.S./Canadian equity options downloads cited (to Jan 3, 2017); live coverage / broker / CAD unverified Official Canadian-listed markets named on TradingView pages Canadian-listed coverage unverified Canadian-listed coverage unverified Canadian-listed coverage unverified

Barchart is market-data + options-stats software first. TradingView is Supercharts first. Market Chameleon is options analytics / screens first. TrendSpider is automated technical scanning first. OptionStrat is a visualizer / builder first. None of those rows is a recommendation to switch, and none is a claim that Barchart wins the job.

Also see the ChartMill screener (US + TSX).

Verified features

Sourced from live barchart.com/membership-comparison (2026-09-09), supporting get-barchart-premier, live Plus/Premier checkout pages, and official Premier product pages (Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Equity Options Price History). We do not list features we could not attribute to an official page.

Membership (authoritative for offers[])

  • Free (My Barchart) $0 — never expires.
  • Plus Monthly $9.99/mo; Plus Annual $99/yr ($8.25/mo effective); Plus Biennial $179/2yr ($7.46/mo effective).
  • Premier Monthly $29.95/mo; Premier Annual $239.95/yr; Premier Biennial $419.95/2yr ($17.49/mo effective).
  • Premier annual monthly-equivalent: membership-comparison shows $19.95/mo; Premier checkout shows $19.99/mo for the same $239.95/yr SKU — prefer citing $239.95/yr; note the $19.95 vs $19.99 rounding briefly when citing monthly-equivalent.

Trial / cancel / refunds

  • Paid tiers: first 30 days free; monthly billed after trial if not cancelled; cancel anytime on monthly.
  • Annual and 2-year Plus and Premier: fully refundable within 30 days of the billing date — confirmed on live checkout pages (2026-09-09).

Premier options / data surfaces

  • Unusual Options Activity; Options Flow; Advanced Options Screeners; extensive volatility / IV tools; Options Time & Sales.
  • Historical daily options price data for U.S. or Canadian equity option contracts (back to January 3, 2017) — official Equity Options Price History / Premier download copy.

Premier research / hypothetical (not FTT advice)

  • Top Stock Picks; Futures Trading Guide (hypothetical system per vendor); Barchart Opinions.

Rejected as standing

  • Stale help-desk $199.95/yr and $368/2yr (e.g. Nov 2020 help article) — not standing offers.
  • Checkout marketing strikethroughs: Plus $119.88 annual / $239.76 2-year; Premier $359.40 annual / $718.80 2-year — not standing offers.
  • /my/purchase — live 404; do not link. Prefer membership-comparison + get-barchart-premier.

Still UNVERIFIED (kept visible)

  1. Exact Free-seat daily page / download / watchlist caps beyond marketing labels — confirm in-account.
  2. Full live Canadian-listed equities / options coverage matrix beyond historical options download copy.
  3. Named Canadian-broker integrations (Questrade, Wealthsimple, TD Direct Investing, Interactive Brokers Canada, and similar).
  4. CAD billing / tax treatment / registered-account (TFSA, RRSP) behavior.
  5. Whether every marketing module ships identically on trial vs paid at signup — confirm in-account.
  6. Any third-party ladder that replaces membership-comparison dollars with stale $199.95 / $368 — rejected as standing.

Canada note

This directory is written with readers in Canada as well as the United States.

Verified historical options download claim. Official Premier / Equity Options Price History copy states historical daily options price data is available for U.S. or Canadian equity option contracts, with expirations back to January 3, 2017.

Live Canadian-listed coverage unverified beyond that claim. We do not treat the historical-download sentence as a full audit of every live Canadian-listed equity, ETF, or Montréal Exchange surface. Live Canadian-listed coverage breadth remains unverified where not stated.

Canadian broker compatibility. We found no official Barchart membership page in this capture that lists Canadian brokers, Questrade, Wealthsimple, TD Direct Investing, or Interactive Brokers Canada as integrated partners. Named Canadian-broker integrations are unverified.

CAD billing unverified. Membership dollars on membership-comparison are published in USD. Whether checkout offers CAD or Canadian tax treatment is unverified.

Many people use market-data software in one tab and a broker in another — that is two separate products, not a verified Canadian integration.

Currency (CAD vs USD), registered-account constraints (TFSA, RRSP), and Canadian tax treatment of options are outside this review.

Price cues from the alternatives page

These notes moved off the alternatives page. Prices are the figures already published there, not new quotes.

  • Basic Free $0; Essential $12.95 a month; Plus $29.95 a month; Premium $59.95 a month; Ultimate $199.95 a month (annual specials on capture).
  • Free $0; Elite $39.50 a month; Elite $299.50 a year.
  • 14-day paid trial into Standard / Premium / Enhanced / Advanced (trial fees $19 / $29 / $39 / $49 as on the charting compare), confirm standing dollars on TrendSpider.
  • TI Standard $127 a month or $1,068 a year; TI Premium $254 a month or $2,136 a year (2026-09-15).
  • Free $0; Plus $49 a month or $39 a month annual; Premium $110 a month or $79 a month annual; Advisor Core $239/$209; Advisor Pro $349/$299 (2026-09-15).

Sources

Do not cite /my/purchase (live 404). Confirm pricing on the official site. There is no affiliate link on this page yet. This button goes to the official homepage: barchart.com.

Disclosure

This page is a directory review of publicly priced software, not financial advice, not a broker recommendation, and not a claim that unusual-activity prints, Top Stock Picks, Futures Trading Guide results, Opinions, or any plan will be profitable. Barchart is software, not a broker. Vendor research / hypothetical surfaces are not recommendations from Find Trading Tools. We have no affiliate URL on this listing; outbound CTAs use the official site. Prices change — confirm on barchart.com/membership-comparison before you pay.

FAQ

Is Barchart free?
Yes — Barchart Free (My Barchart) is $0 forever for delayed quotes and basic screens (exact free caps confirm in-account). Paid Plus and Premier seats advertise first 30 days free, then bill. Prefer Free when delayed quotes and basic screens are enough; prefer Plus / Premier when you need saved screeners / chart templates or Premier options tools (Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, historical options downloads). For a Keep / Gain / Lose map of neighboring free / paid chart-screener seats, see Barchart alternatives.
What does Barchart cost / Barchart pricing?
Barchart pricing (barchart.com/membership-comparison, captured 2026-09-09; browser checkout confirm): Free (My Barchart) $0 never expires; Plus Monthly $9.99/mo, Plus Annual $99/yr ($8.25/mo effective), Plus Biennial $179/2yr ($7.46/mo effective); Premier Monthly $29.95/mo, Premier Annual $239.95/yr (prefer $239.95/yr as the annual offer — membership-comparison shows $19.95/mo effective, Premier checkout shows $19.99/mo for the same SKU), Premier Biennial $419.95/2yr ($17.49/mo effective). Prefer Free when delayed quotes and basic screens are enough. Prefer Plus when you want more customization (saved screeners / chart templates) without Premier options tools. Prefer Premier when you need Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, or historical options downloads. Paid tiers advertise first 30 days free; monthly bills after the trial if not cancelled. Annual and 2-year plans (Plus and Premier) are fully refundable within 30 days of the billing date — confirmed on live checkout pages. Checkout crossed-out reference prices (Plus $119.88 annual / $239.76 2-year; Premier $359.40 annual / $718.80 2-year) are marketing strikethroughs — not standing offers. Do not use /my/purchase (404). Prefer membership-comparison and get-barchart-premier. Reject stale help-desk dollars such as $199.95/yr or $368/2yr. No FTT affiliate URL is wired — CTAs go to the official site.
Is Barchart a broker?
No. This directory lists Barchart as market-data, charting, and screening software with options statistics. Official membership and product pages describe quotes, charts, screeners, unusual options activity, options flow, and related research tools — not account opening or cash custody. Barchart is not a broker. Vendor Top Stock Picks, Futures Trading Guide, and Opinions are research / hypothetical inputs — not recommendations or advice from Find Trading Tools. Do not treat this page as a how-to for placing trades.
Which plan should I pick / is there a trial?
Standing ladder from barchart.com/membership-comparison (captured 2026-09-09; browser checkout confirm): Free (My Barchart) $0 never expires; Plus Monthly $9.99/mo, Plus Annual $99/yr ($8.25/mo effective), Plus Biennial $179/2yr ($7.46/mo effective); Premier Monthly $29.95/mo, Premier Annual $239.95/yr (prefer $239.95/yr as the annual offer — membership-comparison shows $19.95/mo effective, Premier checkout shows $19.99/mo for the same SKU), Premier Biennial $419.95/2yr ($17.49/mo effective). Prefer Free when delayed quotes and basic screens are enough. Prefer Plus when you want more customization (saved screeners / chart templates) without Premier options tools. Prefer Premier when you need Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, or historical options downloads. Paid tiers advertise first 30 days free; monthly bills after the trial if not cancelled. Annual and 2-year plans (Plus and Premier) are fully refundable within 30 days of the billing date — confirmed on live checkout pages. Checkout crossed-out reference prices (Plus $119.88 annual / $239.76 2-year; Premier $359.40 annual / $718.80 2-year) are marketing strikethroughs — not standing offers. Do not use /my/purchase (404). Prefer membership-comparison and get-barchart-premier. Reject stale help-desk dollars such as $199.95/yr or $368/2yr.
Does it work in Canada?
Historical U.S./Canadian equity options data exists (back to January 3, 2017); live Canadian-listed coverage, named CA broker integrations, and CAD billing remain unverified. As market-data software in a browser, you can attempt to open the site from Canada. Official Premier copy on Equity Options Price History states historical daily options price data is available for U.S. or Canadian equity option contracts. Named Canadian-broker integrations (Questrade, Wealthsimple, TD Direct Investing, Interactive Brokers Canada, and similar) remain unverified where not stated on the membership pages we used. Currency (CAD vs USD), registered-account constraints (TFSA, RRSP), and Canadian tax treatment of options are outside this review.
How is this different from TradingView, Market Chameleon, TrendSpider, or OptionStrat?
Barchart’s public product story is market-data / charting / screening software with options statistics (Premier unlocks Unusual Options Activity, Options Flow, Advanced Options Screeners, IV tools, historical options downloads). TradingView’s public story is multi-asset Supercharts and a broad charting platform. Market Chameleon markets browser options analytics / IV / earnings / multi-leg screens. TrendSpider markets automated technical charting / scanning. OptionStrat’s public story is a strategy visualizer / builder. For a Keep / Gain / Lose job-fit map (not a ranking), see Barchart alternatives. This page does not rank them.